For Immediate Release

News desk and Editors

Dear Sir/Madam

## **Media Release**

## The 32<sup>nd</sup> Asia-Pacific Roundtable

**Kuala Lumpur, 23 April 2018** – The Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia, on behalf of ASEAN-ISIS, a network of leading think-tanks in Southeast Asia, is pleased to announce that it will host the 32<sup>nd</sup> Asia-Pacific Roundtable (APR) from 7-9 May 2018 at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur.

Over the last three decades, the APR has brought together great minds from around the world to ponder, reflect, debate and explore solutions on the region's strategic challenges. The APR has in recent years attracted participants of over 300 policymakers, scholars, journalists and opinion leaders. We look forward to welcoming them once again to engage in robust and constructive discussion on a wide range of issues impacting the security, stability and prosperity of the Asia-Pacific region. This year, the conference focuses on the theme of "Disruption: People. Technology. Power. Security".

The timing of the 32<sup>nd</sup> APR is special as it coincides with the 14<sup>th</sup> Malaysian General Election, which will be held on 9 May 2018 (the third day of the 32<sup>nd</sup> APR). Although the election date was only announced at the eleventh hour in our timeframe, we have successfully revised the 32<sup>nd</sup> APR programme so as to accommodate Malaysian participants who wish to exercise their democratic right on the day.

Some sessions have been shifted to 7 May to allow the entire programme to end by mid-day on 9 May. We are glad to inform you that all the sessions will carry on as normal despite the time shift, which only affected our programme very slightly.

Among the confirmed role players are Dr Farish Noor, Mr Siddarth Varadarajan, Dr Pavida Pananond, Ms Nur Sulyna Lim Abdullah, Ms Moe Thuzar, Dr Dino Patti Djalal, Mr Walter Lohman, Prof Xiang Lanxin, Assoc Prof Ken Jimbo, Mr Anton Tsvetov, Dr Lee Jaehyon, Dr Hoo Chiew Ping, Dr Yuang Chong, Prof Tosh Minohara, Dr Morteza Damanpak Jami, Dr James Dorsey, Dr Ayman Khalil, Dr Michael Vatikiotis, Prof Dewi Fortuna Anwar, Amb Pou Sothirak, Dr Thitinan Pongsudhirak, U Khin Maung Lynn, Dr Maria Sultan, Dr Dinusha Panditaratne, Dr Iftekhar Ahmed Chowdhury, Mr Dhruva Jaishankar, Mr Timofei Bordachev, Dr Valdimir I Norov, Dr Roy Anthony Rogers, Dr Meirat Omarov, Prof Dr Nguyen Vu Tung, Ms Elsa B Kania, Ms Margherita D'Ascanio, Ms Zoe Stanley-Lockman, Dr Rommel Banlaoi, Ms Ruby Kholifah, Ms Eliane Ursula Ettmuller, Mr Patrick Tay, Prof Natasha Hamilton-Hartz and Dr Li Wei. Members of the media are invited to cover the Roundtable.

Please find the latest updates on the 32<sup>nd</sup> APR programme on our website at: <a href="http://www.isis.org.my/index.php/thirty2-apr">http://www.isis.org.my/index.php/thirty2-apr</a>

-end-

Contact: Tengku Sheila Tengkua Annuar Zainal Director, Public Affairs & Conference Services

Tel no: 603 2693 7904/6012 209 0976

Email: tsheila@isis.org.my