For Immediate Release

News desk and Editors

Dear Sir / Madam

## **Media Advisory**

## The 33<sup>rd</sup> Asia-Pacific Roundtable

**Kuala Lumpur, 24 April 2019 –** It is the pleasure of the Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia, on behalf of ASEAN-ISIS, to announce that it will host the 33<sup>rd</sup> Asia-Pacific Roundtable (APR) at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur from 24-26 June 2019.

In its past 32 iterations, the APR had been a primary convention for policy makers, opinion drivers and members of the epistemic community to ponder, reflect and debate on strategic issues and challenges relevant to the Asia Pacific region. In recent years, the APR has attracted over 300 great minds of various backgrounds and we look forward to welcoming them again to engage in robust and constructive discussions on a wide range of topics including security, global affairs and economic relations. This year, the conference will focus on the theme of "A Great Unwinding? Rules-Based Regional Security Order to 2020 & Beyond".

We are also glad to inform that YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the Prime Minister of Malaysia, has confirmed his participation in this esteemed Roundtable as a Keynote Speaker. YAB Prime Minister is expected to share his views on Malaysia's domestic development, the state of the Asia Pacific region and the trajectory of global affairs. It is our ardent faith that the participation of YAB Prime Minister would amplify the quality of the discussion and information exchange that would take place in the Roundtable.

Among the confirmed role players are Tan Sri Rastam Mohd Isa, Dr Marty Natalegawa, Dato' Saifuddin Abdullah, Prof Aileen S P Baviera, Dr Thitinan Pongsudhirak, Mr Elbridge Colby, Dr Wu Sichun, Prof C Raja Mohan, Prof Akio Takahara, Mr Patrick Rueppel, Dr Le Dinh Tinh, Ambassador Pou Sothirak, Dr Michito Tsuruoka, Mr Francisco Fontan, Mr Aaron Connelly, Dr Philips J Vermonte, Dr Pandit Chanrochanakit, Dr Bridget Welsh, Dato' Nadzirah Osman, Mr Ralph Cossa, Mr Andrey Baklitskiy, Dr Manpreet Sethi, Dato' Steven Wong, U Kyaw Myaing, Ms Lilianne Fan, Dr Chowdhury Abrar, Dr Paul Evans, Prof Bates Gill, Prof Zhang Weiwei, Dr Zheng Liang, Mr Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, Ambassador Chun Yung Woo, Dr Geetha Govindasamy, Mr John J Brandon, Dr Shashi Jayakumar and Mr Dev Lewis.

Members of the media are invited to cover the Roundtable.

Please find the latest updates of the 33<sup>rd</sup> APR programme on our website at <a href="https://www.isis.org.my/apr-33/">www.isis.org.my/apr-33/</a>

-end-

Contact: Tengku Sheila Tengku Annuar Zainal

Director, Public Affairs and Conference Services

603 2693 7904 / 6032693 2060

tsheila@isis.org.my